Read about how Emily’s digital diet didn’t start as well as she had expected. Time to re-boot!

The Digital Diet

According to Daniel Sieberg’s book THE DIGITAL DIET, the goal is to

“Slim down the use of everything from gadgets to social networks to video games in the hope of making yourself healthier, happier, and whole in the twenty-first century.”

The aim is moderation, not elimination, but it begins with a two-day detox, to put things into perspective. But here’s the problem: I didn’t switch off.

I thought it would be easy – if I timed the first two days of my digital diet with the weekend, then I wouldn’t be using my smartphone for checking train times, checking Facebook or Twitter on the train or at lunch, I probably wouldn’t even switch on a computer. But instead, this is how my weekend went:

Saturday:

Got up, got the train into London. On train, sent some texts to the friend I was meeting, checked Facebook, checked Twitter

View original post 344 more words

Leave a Reply

